About the Institute | Faculty of Applied Physics and Mathematics at the Gdańsk University of Technology

Page content

About the Institute

After many organizational and structural changes that took place at the Gdańsk University of Technology since its foundation in 1904, on October 1, 1969, the "The Inter-Faculty Institute of Physics" was established. Seven Teaching Units were distinguished, which conducted classes in physics for the Faculties of the Gdańsk University of Technology.

Since 1974, 7 scientific research teams have worked within the Institute of Physics: (1) Organic Crystal Team, (2) Photoluminescence Team, (3) Internal Friction in Solids Team, (4). Amorphous Bodies Team, (5) Ionic and Electron Interactions Team, (6) Dielectrics and Organic Semiconductors Team, and (7) Solution Spectroscopy Team.

Such structure persisted until 1983, when the Institute of Physics (together with the Institute of Mathematics) was transformed into the Faculty of Technical Physics and Applied Mathematics with four Departments of Physics and three Departments of Mathematics.

Research conducted in the Departments concerned solid state physics (glasses, organic crystals) and molecular physics (photoluminescence, collisions of electrons with molecules and ions), fluid mechanics, mathematical analysis, differential equations, numerical methods and theory of probability.

The structure of the Faculty of Technical Physics and Applied Mathematics was reorganized again on September 1, 2020.

Within its framework, the Institute of Physics and Applied Computer Science was established, which currently includes 7 Scientific Divisions:

  • Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics
  • Physics of Organic and Perovskite Photovoltaic Structures
  • Theoretical Physics and Quantum Informaton
  • Electron Collisions Physics
  • Molecular Photophysics
  • Complex Systems Spectroscopy
  • Computational Chemical Physics